The Children of Chaos and Gaea – History Brought Alive
Follow Us

The Children of Chaos and Gaea

The great poet, Hesiod, wrote an epic poem during the 8th century B.C.E. about the creation of the world, titled Theogony. According to Hesiod’s poem, three crucial elements played a role in the creation of the world. These elements included Chaos, Gaea, and Eros. In the poem of Theogony, it is stated that Chaos slept with Eros and gave birth to Erebus, the god of darkness, and Nyx, the goddess of the night. Chaos’s children Erebus and Nyx formed a romantic union and gave birth to Aether, who was the bright upper air of the world, and Hemera, who brought the daytime. Nyx would go on to have twelve more children, each representing other parts of nature and life. Nyx’s twelve children included the hateful Moros (fate), Hypnos (sleep), Momos (blame), Philotes (sexual pleasure), Apate (Deceit), Eris (Strife), Oizus (pain), Nemesis (Revenge), Ker (Doom), Oneiroi (Dreams and Nightmares), Geras (Old Age), Thanatos (Death), and Hesperides (the daughter of the evening).

While Chaos and Nyx had their own children, Gaea gave birth to Uranus (who created the story sky) and Oceanus (who created the oceans). Uranus was appointed as Gaea’s protector, and over the years the two of them became lovers and were the first gods to rule over the world as we know it. Uranus and Gaea had eighteen children. Twelve of these children would be born as Titans, three of these children were born as Cyclopes, and three were known as Hecatoncheires (monstrous giants with 50 heads and 100 arms).

To read more about Greek Mythology, click the link below to download your FREE copy.

>Click here to download your FREE copy of Greek Mythology.

We encourage you to leave a review on Amazon and let us know your thoughts! We would appreciate your review.

Here is the book on Amazon:

Thank you for supporting us!

Best regards,

History Brought Alive

Subscribe to our youtube channel to learn more about History: