The Nine Realms of Norse Mythology – Asgard, Midgard, and Jotunheim. – History Brought Alive
Follow Us

The Nine Realms of Norse Mythology – Asgard, Midgard, and Jotunheim.


Asgard, or Asgaror in Old Norse, is the third realm, and it is located in the midst of the world, high up in the sky, where mortal men cannot go.

The gods, goddesses, and the Aesir clan live in Asgard. 

It is the abode of several well-known gods, including Odin, Thor, Heimdallr, Loki, Frigg, Idun, Bragi, Tyr, and many others.

Odin is the king of Asgard. He is the chief ruler of the Aesir tribe and is known as the All-Father. 

Frigg is Odin’s wife and the queen of all Asgard.

Many academics think that Asgard was a beautiful celestial metropolis consisting of gold and silver mansions erected solely by the Aesir.

Asgard is further subdivided into 12 minor realms.

Valhalla and Fólkvangr are two of the most important of these realms. The gods, as well as Viking warriors who perished in combat, live behind these gates.

The fallen soldiers are split evenly in terms of where they will spend the remainder of eternity after death. 

Half of these soldiers would travel to Valhalla, which is governed by Odin, while the other half would go to Folkvangr, which is ruled by the goddess Freya.

Asgard is fortified by a massive wall that encircles the whole kingdom. 

The wall was constructed during the struggle against the Vanir, the other tribe of gods who were sworn enemies of the Aesir.

Aesir and Asgard would be vulnerable without the wall. 

This wall was impenetrable and extremely strong, providing the Aesir with total protection from their adversaries like the malevolent giants, fire demons, the Vanir, and others. 

The Great Gate was the single entrance within the wall that led into Asgard.

There is a bridge within Asgard that connects it to all other worlds, including Midgard, the home of mortals.

This bridge is known as the Bifrost Bridge, although it has also been referred to as the Rainbow Bridge.

Bifrost is defined as a rainbow made up of three plaited fire strands.

The Norse deity Heimdallr skilfully guarded Bifrost, ensuring that no trespassers or ambushes fell upon Asgard.

Heimdallr has amazing abilities and a keen sense of sight that allowed him to identify attackers from a mile away. 

Whenever Bifrost was in danger, Heimdallr would sound his trumpet, the Gjallarhorn, to alert the gods.


Midgard, also known as Midgard in Old Norse, is the fourth world and translates as “middle earth.

Midgard is the domain where humans and animals live. 

Midgard lies at the heart of the world, just under Asgard, which hovers above Midgard.

Midgard was constructed from the body of Ymir, according to legends. 

When Odin and his brothers murdered Ymir, the wicked giant’s body is claimed to have been rolled into the center emptiness of the universe, beginning the development and geographical creation of Midgard.

The country of Midgard is considered to be Ymir’s flesh.

Ymir’s blood is the oceans; his bones are the mountains; his teeth are the cliffs; his hair is the trees; and Ymir’s dispersed brain is the clouds.

The four dwarves are known as Nordi, Surdi, Austri, and Vestri, who symbolize the four points of the compass, and are claimed to have held up Ymir’s head, and so his skull formed the dome of the skies.

The moon, stars, and sun as we know them were formed from the dispersed sparks captured within Ymir’s skull.

The earliest people in Norse mythology are said to be Ask and Embla, who was sent down to Midgard after Odin and his brothers made them from tree logs.

Bifrost connects Midgard to Asgard and is guarded by Heimdallr.

Scholars thought that Midgard was encircled by a vast ocean that was impenetrable to mankind.

It is said that this inaccessible ocean was inhabited by a fearsome sea snake known as the Midgard Serpent, which devoured anybody who ventured to attempt to cross it. The snake was so massive that it was thought it could easily envelop the whole kingdom of Midgard.


Jotunheim, also known as Jotunheimr, is the fifth realm and the home of the giants, or Jotnar in Old Norse.

The only thing that separates Jotunheim from Asgard is the river, Irving, which is said to freeze over every year, functioning as a barrier between the two worlds.

The giants are another sworn enemy of the Aesir who seeks the gods’ annihilation.

Jotunheim’s terrain is dominated by large thick woods, mountainous landscapes, and desolation. 

Jotunheim is also claimed to be incredibly cold and to be populated by numerous frost giants because it is located on the icy area of the ocean’s furthest beaches.

As a result, the giants would consume fish from rivers and oceans, as well as forest creatures, because there was no fertile soil in Jotunheim to raise crops or vegetables.

The Aesir and the giants are claimed to have been continuously at war with one another; yet, it was also stated that love relationships between the two species occurred on occasion, and mixed-race offspring were created.

It is rumored that even gods like Thor, Loki, and Odin himself had giant lovers. 

Loki, the god of mischief, was born in Jotunheim and was Odin’s adopted son.

The Aesir welcomed Loki with loving arms, and he lived quietly in Asgard for many years until he was 

condemned, exiled, and sent back to Jotunheim.

Utgard, the giants’ counterpart of Asgard’s great wall, is the fortress that guards Jotunheim.

 Utgard is supposed to be so lofty that the peak is practically difficult to see.

Utgard is a fortification built of carved chunks of snow and sharp gleaming icicles.

King Utgard-Loki, the fearsome enormous monarch, resides within this stronghold.

Check out our youtube channel for more fascinating stories about ancient times!

Subscribe now: